Getting My Craft On!

A crafting blog! I am so excited about this. My wonderful sister created the lovely banner that you see above. If you have followed my “life” blog From Wench It Came you know that I have been a bit on the immobile side while I await back surgery after an accident overseas.  So since I have been back home in America, I have been keeping busy with different crafty endeavors.  Some I am trying for the first time, and some I have been dabbling in for some time.

I just finished a knitted project.  The pattern came from Stephen West. I just discovered this awesome man / designer. I have to be honest and say that I have come across few male knitting patterns that I could confidently  give to a male friend and have them be like ‘Thats awesome!” and not like “ummm, thanks?”. haha. But with Stephen West I did.

My Uncle Charles is a big, burly, tatted, motorcycle-riding man. He likes to wear beanies to keep his head warm in the cooler florida winter months. So upon my search I found Stephen West’s Windschief hat.  I decided to go with Cascade 22o Superwash yarn. The color matches my Uncle’s motorcycle. The yarn is a delight to work with and Cascade 220 has been my ‘go-to’ yarn since I first learned how to knit. I made the large size on size 6 and 7 needles as the pattern suggested for gage. The pattern is written very well and is very easy to follow. Its perfect for a mindless knit or for someone who is just learning the ropes of knitting. It took me 2 solid days to complete. I am very pleased with the end results. I used my mother as my hat model…needless to say its a bit large on her, but I am hopeful that it will be perfect for my uncle.

Leave a Reply

