TV DVDs… How I <3 You

Weeks of being laid up in bed with not much to do but watch movies and shows on my laptop have given me a lot of time to think about this matter at hand, and I have come to the conclusion that I am not ashamed to admit (to all of you) that I have commitment issues. It happens to some people. Not everyone is made for commitment. Commitment is a HUGE decision that should not be taken lightly, and I just am unable to commit to being home in time for the airing of a certain TV show. I know its tragic and I was hoping that it was just a phase in my life that I would grow out of, but after…. many years…. I still start off with the best intentions, but by the third week, the pressure proves too much… I mean what if I want to go out to dinner? What if I am in the midst of a fantastic book? What if I am on a steamy date (not bloody likely, but still)?  I found that all of the ‘what if’s caused too much stress in my life so I had abandon scheduled TV watching. I also have this issue with starting a show from the middle of the series.. (What if I have missed something juicy and essential!?) which you can imagine proves very problematic with discovering new shows. So for many years I was living a half life. A life that felt not truly fulfilled…like I had a hole deep in my soul.

Then many years ago… I think I was still in High school (we wont talk about how long ago that actually was) my best friend invited me to her house, where I saw a still packaged box set of DVDs for the TV show The Sopranos. Not only could I watch a show that I couldn’t see because 1) I didn’t have cable TV and 2) I was probably too young to see its content, but I could watch the whole series at my own pace–not having to wait a week in between shows if I did not wish it… It was like the finding of the Holy Grail. Like in Monty Python, I heard the trumpets sound from the heavens. (Okay.. not literally, but it was still amazing).  Since that discovery many years ago, I have been able to watch many shows that I had been unable to see due to my inability to commit, and I have formed many addictions to different shows.  TrueBlood started off as a major addiction of mine, Sex in the City another one.  And since I have been overseas, TV DVDs have saved my life in terms of an escape from the everyday stresses and frustrations that living abroad can present. I have discovered shows that I would never have known about, and have formed new addictions such as: Gavin and Stacey, A Game of Thrones, Drop Dead Diva, Glee (don’t judge on that one), Mad Men, and my newest find is the wonderful show ‘Downton Abbey.’I have an uncanny love for Period pieces (that is not to say PMS friendly shows… though they could also fit into that category). BBC’s production of ‘Pride and Prejudice’ with the beautiful Colin Firth steals my breath away every time I watch it, and movies such as ‘The Other Boleyn Girl,’ and‘The Duchess,’ give me hours of entertainment. For some reason the costumes and frilly dresses make me smile. ‘Downton Abbey’ is another such period piece.

The series is set in the fictional Downton Abbey, the Yorkshire country house of the Earl

Downton Abbey

and Countess of Grantham, and follows the lives of the aristocratic Crawley family and their servants during the reign of King George V. The first series spans the two years before the Great War beginning with news of the sinking of the Titanic, which sets the story in motion.

I started watching this and as many shows start off, the first episode sets up for the rest of the series, so it seemed a little drawn out. I was of a mind to the chuck the show and not give it another chance. But with urging from a friend, I continued to watch it and before I knew it, shows were flying by in the sense that I had sat in bed watching 3-4 episodes before I realized the time. I am in the middle of the second season at the moment, and it is just as amazing at the first. If you are a person who doesn’t mind British accents and stories of aristocracy drama, then Downton Abbey is a must see! I only have 4 episodes remaining in the second season (which is the last season that I have in my possession) and I will be very sad when it is over. For those of you who are interested, the show was also featured in the January 2012 edition of the magazine Entertainment Weekly.

Anyhow… if you have yet to discover the joys for TV DVDs you need to get on it! It is very liberating! Heck! They have even started putting shows like Top Chefs Just Desserts and America’s Next Top Model on DVD if you need a guilty pleasure fix. (We all have those…).

3 thoughts on “TV DVDs… How I <3 You

  1. YES!!! I love Downton Abbey!!! so very much! Just be aware that there have only been 2 seasons. The 2nd one JUST ended so you will have to wait a while before it comes around again 😦 love you too. ❤

  2. I love Downton Abbey as well. It really is a fantastic show. The second season ended here with the 2 hour Christmas special…not sure if you have that in your DVDs. If not, you must get it. I’m really looking forward to season 3. I think they are filming now or about to start filming. Don’t know how long that means for us in the US though as they are not airing here at the same time as the UK.

Leave a Reply

