Lost in Books

Since I have been back and forth to the doctors and living in a hotel until I am medically released to go back to my village, I have a had a lot of time to do some reading, and our headquarters library is quite nice (its nice when books are free).

I just finished reading a book that was a very cute romance novel. A Matter of Class  The synopsis from www.goodreads.com is as follows:

A Matter of Class

Reginald Mason is wealthy, refined, and, by all accounts, a gentleman. However, he is not a gentleman by title, a factor that pains him and his father within the Regency society that upholds station over all else. That is, until an opportunity for social advancement arises, namely, Lady Annabelle Ashton. Daughter of the Earl of Havercroft, a neighbor and enemy of the Mason family, Annabelle finds herself disgraced by a scandal, one that has left her branded as damaged goods. Besmirched by shame, the earl is only too happy to marry Annabelle off to anyone willing to have her.Though Reginald Mason, Senior, wishes to use Annabelle to propel his family up the social ladder, his son does not wish to marry her, preferring instead to live the wild, single life he is accustomed to. With this, Reginald Senior serves his son an ultimatum: marry Annabelle, or make do without family funds. Having no choice, Reginald consents, and enters into a hostile engagement in which the prospective bride and groom are openly antagonistic, each one resenting the other for their current state of affairs while their respective fathers revel in their suffering.

I found the story very engaging and hard to put down. I was very disappointed when the book was finished; not because of the ending, but because I read it faster than I thought. You might be able to guess the ending, but it is written in such a way that you are anxious to keep reading to see if you are correct in your assumption. (At least that is how is worked for me). If you are looking for a nice romantic read that will leave you feeling happy and warm inside, I highly recommend this book.

**Also if you do not know about www.goodreads.com check it out. It is a website that allows you to keep track and share all of the books that you have read. You can shelve them anyway you would like and write reviews and rate them.**

The book I am about to start I am very excited about. I had read about it on Amazon a while back and had decided that as soon as I was back in the States I would get it to read (If I could remember it after another year) or I would beg my mother to ship it to me (you are never too old to beg your

People of the Book

mother for things). Yet, When I was looking in our library after finishing A Matter of Class I found it sitting on a shelf just screaming my name! The beautiful black cover with gold and blue butterfly wings. People of the Book by Geraldine Brooks. 

I will be starting the book today so I can’t say for sure how the writing is, but it appears to be well written and very intriguing. It is inspired by a true story and is about a book conservationist named Hannah who is offered the job to work on the Sarajevo Haggadah which has been rescued from Serb shelling during the Bosnian war. The book is one of the earliest Jewish volumes ever to be illuminated with images. She discovers a series of tiny artifacts in its ancient binding – an insect wing fragment, wine stains, salt crystals, a white hair and begins to research everything and find out about where the book has come from and where it has been in its journey.

The book itself has gotten mixed reviews from people saying it is absolutely terrible to others saying it in amazing and inspiring… I will just have to judge for myself.  I am very excited to get started.

6 thoughts on “Lost in Books

  1. Be sure to let us know how you like it – it sounds very interesting! I love Mary Balogh books, but not sure if I’ve read this one. I’m reading The Host right now, but will search this one out next!

    • I will. I am half way done with it now… I am alternating between reading and knitting… I wish there were a way for me to read while I knit… Audio books seem to put me to sleep though.. I gotta think of something.

    • Oh!!! I need to read the Host. I will start it after People of the Book. And the Abraham Lincoln Vampire Hunter movie looks pretty cool. Let me know how the book is. Don’t knock my sappy books btw! They are what makes me so loveable.

  2. I just recently started using Goodreads. Right after I joined, they broke partnership with Amazon and some of the books I was trying to import never made it in. Not to mention the importing feature doesn’t work effectively. I don’t see how the people with 300+ books got them all in there. Anyway, try to connect with me on there. I’ll look for you as well.

  3. Good day! I know this is somewhat off topic but I was wondering which blog platform are you
    using for this site? I’m getting sick and tired of WordPress because I’ve had problems with hackers and I’m looking at alternatives for another platform. I would be great if you could point me in the direction of a good platform.

Leave a Reply

