I Judge By The Packaging

They teach us when we are growing up not to judge a book by its cover… but I say… if you want your shit noticed then you better make it pretty (or clever).

If I go into a bookstore with no particular aim, but rather just to see what I can find, I have a set routine: I go to the section that sounds appealing at that time and I start looking for books that stand out either by cover picture or color. If I pick up a book that has an awesome title, but the cover is crap, I won’t even read the synopsis– I just put it back on the shelf (if they couldn’t take the time to make an interesting cover then why should I take the time to read it?).

My favorite frozen yogurt shop “Sour Sally!” I only started going to

Sour Sally! Deliciousness

because of the cute girl mascot, awesome décor, and Tim Burton like swirls that caught my eye and drew me in like a bug to the light. (and they have one of the cutest interactive websites I have ever seen!  http://www.hellosoursally.com/)

With all that being said… I was walking around with a friend wanting something to eat, but not knowing exactly what. I am not typically very adventurous in trying new foods either (despite having accidentally eaten goat head the other day). So as we were walking around this shopping center I saw these awesome boxes sitting on top of a counter.

Me: Whoa! Do you see those boxes over there?

Friend: Yeah… What are they for?

Me: I have no idea, but I have to find out! Come on!!!

We made our way over to the very nice man behind the counter who I started to accost right away.

Me: Hello! What goes in this box?

Man: Ummm. It’s for Mochi

Me: What the heck is Mochi?

Man: Ummm this. These are mochi.

Me: Yes, I see that, but WHAT is it?

Man: It’s Mochi.

Mochi Deliciousness

About to scream and seeing that I was obviously not going to get anywhere with the man and the language barrier that was presenting an issue in communication, I said that I would take two and proceeded to pick two that had pretty colors. Not really knowing what exactly I was going to be eating.

I gave one to my friend who was adamant that she wasn’t going to eat any unknown substance, but I reassured her: “Do you see how cute that box is? How can what goes in it be bad?”

On the count of three we both took a bite of our Mochi! I was pleasantly surprised. I got a green tea and white chocolate filled treat. It was a like a sweet dumpling. I was just about to expressed what a pleasant surprise Mochi turned out to be when I turned towards my friend and saw her gagging and giving me a look of pure disgust. “Why would you do that to me!?” I shrugged my shoulders and said “I thought it was really good.”  To which she just rolled her eyes and walked away from me.

For those of you who do not already know…. Mochi is a Japanese rice cake made of glutinous rice (not to be confused with gluten) pounded into paste and molded into shape (usually round or square).

At that moment I saw a bigger box that was even cuter that the one before that! In a very excited manner I told the man behind the counter that I wanted the big box, and he informed me that I got to choose 4 mochi deliciousnesses (not a real word but still awesome) to put into that awesome box.  

Walking home that night I smiled from ear to ear… It doesnt take much apparently.

Leave a Reply

